Day Pass: Bunbury

This year may just be the biggest year for festivals for me.  I am looking to hit about nine of them by the end of the year, even if that means just doing single day passes to the best days. I mean, let’s face it, I’m not made of money, three day passes are expensive!

IMG_20160604_105405

The Friday of Bunbury this year was especially appealing to me because of The Killers, and PVRIS being scheduled on the same day.  Cincinnati is only about three hours away which is totally worth it for The Killers.  The day started for me with The Dear Hunter who put on a much better set than I had seen out of them at Riot Fest last year. I caught a couple of songs by the Mowglis who have seemed to have grown up some since the last time I saw them.  I made my way back across the park to get a good spot for PVRIS.  I’ve been a big fan of theirs since I saw them before they blew up two years ago open for Emarosa in Nashville.  I’ve had a couple of chances to talk to the group who are all super friendly which makes me even more of a fan…. not to mention Lyndsey is ridiculously hot.  The put on a great set basically playing the whole White Noise album. I decided to get food after that set and watch The Wombats, and the surprisingly fun Charles Bradley who brought soul to the fest.

DSC02069

The sun started to set as we secured a spot close to the front for Haim, and the Killers. My last post stated that I found Haim gave a mediocre performance at Hangout, but this time at Bunbury their performance really won me over. I’m not sure if it was being so close, or what but I really enjoyed it.  Finally after waiting through the stage change-over it was time for the Killers.  I had seen them once before at Hangout in 2014, but I wasn’t very close.  This time we were about 7 people from the gate and it was well worth the wait!  From the moment they came out the energy was powerful as they blasted off like a rocket into “Spaceman” and then “Somebody Told Me”.

DSC02132

By halfway through the set I was content in saying they alone were worth my ticket price, and travel to Cinci.  Then one of the top five most magical moment’s I’ve ever experienced in live music happened as fireworks from the Cincinnati Red’s stadium started erupting in the background behind the band as they played.  Even Brandon Flowers was in love with the happening as he smiled and stated “we bring a little bit of Vegas everywhere we go” and told the band to continue playing through it. The fireworks continued for about five songs making their cover of “Can’t Help Falling In Love” more magical than just Brandon’s voice could make it.  It was one of those moments where I wish I had a girl to kiss as if I was in a movie.  They rounded out the night with “When You Were Young” and “Mr. Brightside” solidifying the reason I love them, and will continue to travel to see them.

IMG_20160604_122631

-KEGS

More pics

DSC02044The Dear Hunter

DSC02049DSC02052The Mowglis

DSC02054The Mowglis

DSC02061PVRIS

DSC02072DSC02079DSC02102DSC02117Charles Bradley

DSC02121Haim

DSC02124DSC02141DSC02241The Killers with remnants of a firework exploding

DSC02235DSC02213DSC02157DSC02146DSC02184IMG_20160604_122325

Leave a Reply

